Minor musings

Random comments from a twenty-something southerner

30 day shred December 6, 2010

Filed under: exercise,health — lrns88 @ 2:08 pm
So one of my big aims post-uni was to lose the weight I gained whilst there! I’ve gone up to a size 14, and have so far failed to lose much of it since graduating in 2009. I’ve tried everything from Slimming World (which I didnt stick to), calorie counting (which made me miserable, so again I didnt stick to it!), to just living off of cupa soups (can you imagine how miserable I was on that?!).
I’ve always been a bit of a gym bunny, especially in the summer when it isnt dark when I get home from work, and I feel like I need to look better when the sun is out. But in the winter I’m defo guilty of eating shed loads of chocolate and hibernating. Especially with the current weather, going to the gym or an exercise class isnt appealing!
I bought Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred DVD from play.com last week and it arrived yesterday:
Since she’s the workout person on The Biggest Loser tv show in America, and I’ve heard great reviews about it, I thought I’d give it a go……Grief!! Considering I thought I was vaguely fit, I was seriously wrong! Today was day 2 and it was actually harder than day 1!
I’m a bit sceptical about workout videos and whether they work, especially after I bought a yoga DVD a few years ago and couldnt crack it as I didnt have someone there to help, but it does have great reviews so I’m definitely up for the challenge. I’m going to take my measurements tonight (as suggested by an ehow.com article) and I’ll let you know if I notice any difference.
If anyone has tried this DVD or knows of any success stories, it would be great to hear about them!
xxx
 

Leave a Reply

